Breakfast around the world: Spain

By: Serena

Mar 11 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Breakfast

4 Comments

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:35mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:NIKON D5000

A spanish sweet, really similar to french toast or pain perdu, typically  eaten in Spain during Easter period. It made me made mmm about 1000 times while eating it!

Torrijas

with half Banana

Soak whole wheat bread slices (the bread of the day before is perfect) in warm milk (I used soy) with a pinch of cinnamon, then in a beaten egg. Fry the slices in hot oil. Serve with waterfalls of maple syrup (not so spanish, but I was out of honey!).

4 comments on “Breakfast around the world: Spain”

  1. wow this looks so good! I just had a french toast yesterday but now I want another one!

  2. Hey, I know this. In Dutch we call this ‘wentelteefjes’ and we eat it with powdered sugar on top. It’s delicious!

  3. Haha, yes that was my first thought too “wentelteefjes”. I eat them also with banana, but you can eat them with all kinds of fruit. Or with confectioner sugar, honey, cinnamon etc. Only I make this without the milk. Just bread, cut the edges off, in the stirred egg (the bread is soaked with the egg) and then in the pan.

  4. I’m a huge fan of french toast, waffles, and pancakes so this is definitely going on my list of recipes to try! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

